Messages Page

To display the Messages Page, click the Messages menu at the top menu bar.

On mobile devices, menus might be collapsed into a hamburger menu in the top right corner. Click the hamburger first, then select Messages.

Messages Page is where all of your communications take place. Messages between supervisors, supervisors and members, various requests, and system notifications are some of the messages that can appear here.


Messages are organized by their update time. Newer messages and messages with the latest comments bubble up to the top, and you can scroll down to see older messages. There are various ways to filter & organize the messages. They are discussed below...


View Menu

Use the View dropdown menu at the left top of the page and select either the Regular or Archived messages. When you start the application, the menu will always default to the Regular message view. Select the Archived menu to see the messages that were previously archived.

Messages can be archived either manually or automatically. They are both discussed below.


Summary View

Use the Summary View checkbox at the left top of the page to collapse all the messages and display only the header of the messages. Using the summary view, you can scroll down quicker and get to the post you want to see faster. To open up the detail of a post, simply click on the headline.

To go back to the view where all messages are showing their details, click off the Summary View checkbox.


Auto Archive Messages

Use the Auto Archive Messages checkbox at the left top of the page to automatically archive messages that have expired. Posts about a Week's schedule that's in the past, or Absence Request for a Shift that's in the past are some examples of the messages that will be archived automatically.

You can always view the archived messages by selecting the Archived menu from the View Menu.

To stop expired message from automatically archived, simply click off the Auto Archive Messages checkbox.


Filtering Messages

Use the following options to View/Filter various messages. Filter options are located in the top-left corner of the screen.

When your screen size is small (likely when you are using Schedule-Zero on mobile), the Filter options might be collapsed inside a Setting Button to save space.


Addressed only to me

Selecting this checkbox will display messages that were sent directly to you, and meant to be seen by you only. The sender can also see the message. Comments made under this type of post will remain private between you and the sender.

To unselect this filter and see messages sent to everyone, click the same checkbox again.


Posted by

Use the Posted by dropdown and select a member to see messages that were posted by that member. You can also select the You option to see messages you sent.

To unselect this filter and see everyone's messages, click the x button next to the dropdown menu.


Post Type

Use the Post Type dropdown to view messages that are of that selected type.

For an example, you can select the Absence Request menu to see only the messages that were posted to request absences. See the Message Types section to see the types of messages you can view.

To unselect this filter and see all message types, click the x button next to the dropdown menu.


Starred

Use the Starred dropdown and select a color to view messages that were previously marked by you with that color.

Selecting a blue star, for an example, will display all the messages that were marked as blue using the Star icon in the top right corner of the message panel.

To unselect this filter and see all star types, click the x button next to the dropdown menu.


Post Date

Click the Select Date Range input area, then select start and end dates to see messages that were posted in those dates.

This might be a handy option when you want to review, for an example, all the absence requests that were submitted last week.

To unselect this option and see messages from all time periods, click the x button next to the dates input area.


Reset All

Click this link to clear all filters and reset all filtering options to default.


Archive Messages

Use the Archive feature to put away messages that are no longer needed.

  • To archive a message, click the Archive button just below the posting area. The message will be moved to the Archived area.
  • When you are viewing archived messages, the same button would show Unarchive. Clicking it will restore the message to the main viewing area.

Categorize Messages

Click the Star button located in the right top corner of a message to color-code that message.

  • Clicking on the Star button will cycle through different colors. Keep on clicking until the star turns into a color of your choosing.
  • Messages can be filtered by a color so that similar messages can be viewed together. Refer to the Filtering Messages section below for more information.

Edit/Delete Messages

You can edit or delete the messages you posted. To edit or delete your message, click the ellipsis menu next to the Star menu in the top right corner of your post.


Edit your message

To edit your message, click the ellipsis icon and select Edit from the dropdown menu. A dialog appears with your original comment. Make the modification you want, and click Save Changes button. To cancel the edit, click elsewhere on the browser or the x in the top right corner to close the dialog.


Delete your message

To delete your post, click the ellipsis icon and select Delete menu. In most cases, however, it might be preferable to simply Archive your messages. Use this option only when you wish to remove the post permanently.

IMPORTANT

Deleting a post removes the post from everyone it's addressed to, but it does not remove the underlying shift or requests related to the post. For an example, deleting a message about your absence request removes all the discussions about the request, but it does not cancel the absence request itself.


Acknowledge Messages

In some cases, you can acknowledge the post to let everyone know that you've read and understood the post. This can come in handy, for an example, when a change was made to a shift, and you want to make sure the assignee has received and understood the change.

To acknowledge a post, simply click the Acknowledge button.

When someone acknowledges a post, a small link appears at the bottom of the post area. Clicking that link will display a dialog that shows the list of members who've acknowledged and when the acknowledgement took place.


Commenting

Use the comment area at the bottom of the message to respond to a post, or to others who've already commented. To comment, type in your comment in the comment area and press Enter to send.

You can edit or delete your own comments. Click the ellipsis icon next to your comment, and select an option from the dropdown menu.


Message Types

Here are the types of messages that can appear in Messages Page.

  • Published Week - When a Week is published, everyone gets a notification of the newly published schedule. It will show all the shifts that's scheduled in that week. On mobile devices, especially on a portrait mode, the entire week may not fit on the screen. If the schedule is cut off, scroll sideways to see the remainder of the week.
  • Shift Discussion - A member may post a question about their shift assignment. This type of posts are made by your members, and visible to all supervisors and admins. To respond, simply type your comment in the comments area.
  • Shift Modification - When a shift is modified after it was published, when a published shift is deleted, or when a new shift is added to a week that's already published, the member to whom the shift is assigned gets a notification of the update. You and the member can use the comment feature to further discuss the updates.
  • Absence Request - A member may post a request for absence. You can review the request and approve/deny from here, or leave a comment to further discuss the request before making your decision.
  • System Notification - Schedule-Zero may send you various messages about your workspace. You've already seen the welcome message when you first joined Schedule-Zero.